X Close
Your Cart
Keep Shopping
Knockdown in Boxing

Knockdown in Boxing

What Counts as a Knockdown?

In boxing, a knockdown refers to a situation where a fighter is knocked to the canvas or floor, either through a punch or a series of punches, and fails to rise before the referee's count reaches ten. When any part of a boxer's body other than their feet touches the canvas due to a punch, they're considered knocked down, initiating the referee's count.


knockdown in boxing

Knockdowns in boxing, though distinct from TKOs (Technical Knockouts), share a pivotal role in determining the course of a match. A knockdown occurs when a fighter is floored by a punch and fails to rise before the referee's count of ten. This differs from a TKO, where a fighter cannot continue due to sustained damage or an inability to defend themselves, prompting the referee, corner, or ringside physician to halt the bout for safety reasons. Feints, deceptive moves employed to mislead opponents, often create openings for knockdowns by setting up unexpected attacks. In the context of draws, bouts, and sparring, knockdowns serve as decisive moments. They can sway judges' scores, impact the outcome of a bout, or signal dominance in sparring sessions, showcasing a boxer's skill and power. Understanding the role of knockdowns amidst these elements elucidates their significance in shaping the narrative, excitement, and unpredictability within the realm of boxing.

How Do You Get a Knockdown?

A knockdown in boxing is typically achieved by delivering a powerful, well-placed punch or a combination of punches that significantly destabilize an opponent, causing them to lose balance and fall to the ground. The force and impact of the punch or punches determine the effectiveness of a knockdown.

What Constitutes a Knockdown in Boxing?

A knockdown is established when a fighter is floored by a punch or a series of punches, and the referee initiates the count to ten. It's crucial to note that the boxer must rise before the referee completes the count to continue the fight; otherwise, the match is declared a knockout victory for the standing fighter.

Can You Be Knocked Down Twice?

Yes, a boxer can be knocked down multiple times within a single fight. Each knockdown results in the referee starting a count, and the fighter must rise before the count of ten to continue the match. If a boxer is knocked down repeatedly and fails to rise within the count, the fight is deemed a knockout victory for the opponent.

Is There Such a Thing as a Double Knockdown?

A double knockdown occurs when both fighters deliver simultaneous punches, causing both to fall to the canvas at the same time. While rare, a double knockdown creates an unprecedented scenario where both boxers are subject to the referee's count. If one fails to rise within the count, their opponent wins by knockout.

Has There Ever Been a Double Knockdown?

In boxing history, there have been instances of double knockdowns, albeit infrequent. One notable example occurred in 1996 during the fight between Riddick Bowe and Andrew Golota. Both fighters exchanged powerful blows, resulting in a rare double knockdown, adding drama and intensity to the bout. 


knockdown boxing

Famous Boxing Knockdowns

Throughout history, numerous iconic knockdowns have defined legendary fights. Iconic moments include Muhammad Ali's knockdown of George Foreman in the "Rumble in the Jungle" and Manny Pacquiao's stunning knockdown of Ricky Hatton, showcasing the sheer power and skill of these elite fighters.

Conclusion: A knockdown in boxing is a defining moment, often encapsulating the drama, power, and unpredictability of the sport. Whether through historic moments or rare occurrences like double knockdowns, these instances underscore the thrilling and dynamic nature of boxing, leaving an indelible mark on the sport's rich history.

Did you find the blog helpful? If so, consider checking out other guides: